Exercise – Lorem Ipsum

Lorem Ipsum

My brief is to take one of the publications from the previous research point (Readable Publications) and recreate it as closely as possible, replacing the text wit Lorem Ipsum.

This made me look very closely at the layout, margins, spacing etc.

The first item I chose was one with a lot of text.

IMG_0248

I made notes on the details and possible adjustments.

Scan

Copy

Print

I am pleased with this recreation, and I learned more about how to use Illustrator. I wanted to make one change at a time and take time to look at how/if it changes how easy it is to read.

Change 1: Smaller leading. In the version above, leading was set to 13pt. I set it to 10.8 (auto)

I think this reduced how easy it is to read.

story2

Change 2: San Serif typeface

I think this made it easier to read.

story3

Change 3: Alignment, I changed all text to ‘justified’

I think this is easier to read.

story4

Change 4: All of the above.

Although I think that this is easy to read, I think that the large leading in the original item/my copy is an important factor.

story5

Change 2 & 3 (San Serif typeface and justified alignment)

I think this is the version that is easiest to read, it’s not too crowded or fussy.

Print

The second item I chose was made up from lots of small bodies of text.

IMG_0225

Notes on the details and possible adjustments.

Scan 1

Copy

10 ways

Again, I wanted to make one change at a time and take time to look at how/if it changes how easy it is to read.

Change 1: Black and White

I don’t think this made any difference to how easy it is to read. A little boring to look at maybe.

Print

Change 2: Serif typeface

I’m not sure that this makes any difference, I just don’t think it looks as good overall.

10 ways1

Change 3: Centralise all text

Again, little affect on the readability, but it doest fit was well with the images.

10 ways2

Change 4: All of the above.

This looks boring and poorly laid out.

10 ways3

Change 2 & 3: ‘All of the above’ in colour.

Keeping the colour, didn’t improve the other changes. I think that the original/copy is the easiest to read and best layout.

10 ways4

This was a really valuable exercise, it encouraged looking closely at details in bodies of text, and how small changes can have a big affect on how a publication is viewed.

Response to Tutor Feedback

In the first recreated article, I omitted the white space at the top of the page. This is a frustrating error, because it is so basic, and does have an obvious effect on the overall readability of the article. In light of this, I reopened the document to make the adjustment to find that I had in fact included all boarders but they seem to get cropped whenever converted to jpeg.

Although I’m glad I didn’t make the mistake, it seems I need to look into this to avoid it in the future. Also, since doing this exercise, I have learned more about Indesign – Clearly a more suitable programme for this exercise.

I’ve included screenshots to show my working document:

Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 14.09.52

Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 14.09.55 Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 14.10.19

Leave a comment